The Hag Speaks; My First Ladies of Harley Article

Thought you all might enjoy reading my first LOH article to my Harley Owners Group chapter for our newsletter, The HOG Log. So, here ya go:

LOH_patch

Hi, my HOGgy peeps! First of all, thank you so much for voting me in to lead Ladies of Harley for 2013. Granted, I was the only one on the ballot, which made the whole thing pretty easy-peasy in my book (Ha!), but your confidence in me to take on this role and hold up the tradition is truly flattering. I am filling shoes that are, frankly, hard to fill, but I’m not doing it alone. I have loving sisters and brothers of HOG, helping me along the way. So, I’m honored to serve and hope that I do the position justice.

As I see it, my role in LOH is to inspire women riders and passengers to become more involved in HOG and Ladies of Harley. But beyond that, I hope to encourage all chapter members to participate in the LOH activities as well as chapter meetings, board meetings, rides, and events. LOH is not about division or relegating things to gender lines and opposing forces, it’s about bringing people together in a common spirit and function. You are always welcome to attend LOH event, whether you ride your own or not and whether you are female or not; you all are a vital part of LOH and necessary to the strength and cohesion of our chapter of which LOH is but a part. I love LOH and women riders, but at the same time, I wish LOH had been named POH for “People of Harley”, because I believe it takes all of us to make this work at a beneficial level.

At the recent board meeting, both Joe and Fernando brought up a good point: that maybe we have veered away from an important element of why we’re all HOG members, which is to ride and have fun. Yes, perhaps we have veered a bit away from that, but we can fix it. Being out on a Harley (the best brand of motorcycle in the world, in my opinion), whether at the front of a bike or the back is vital to experiencing happiness and finding our freedom as individuals. Riding is about what happens inside of us when we ride, that wonderfully satisfying, meditative, and enriching experience that’s intensely personal and yet shared by each of us. Riding keeps us sane, whole, and happy. And, if I may be so bold, it’s vital to our existence.

Riding is why we are a part of this great organization. But, I propose that a direct outpouring of the health and happiness achieved by riding is the philanthropic work that we as HOG members do in the community. Riding makes us happy and centered and only in that state of balance, do we have enough to reach out and give to others, both in our personal lives and in a wider spectrum. So, I’m calling 2013 the year of the ride and I’m hoping to see all of you at the upcoming chapter rides and events. We’ve got some really fun stuff planned for February, a General Meeting on the 9th, a dinner drive to Cliff Castle on the 15th, a CPR class on the 16th, and Big Brothers, Big Sisters Bowl-a-Thon on the 23rd. Please come and hang with your HOG brothers and sisters, and let’s get a jump on this year of the ride! Yours truly, Lizzy-bean

About Biker Babe Tours

Biker babe (riding a purple, 2012 Harley-Davidson Street Glide), writer, tour guide, and breather of much oxygen.
This entry was posted in Harley Owners Group, Motorcyclist Essays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Hag Speaks; My First Ladies of Harley Article

  1. Reblogged this on eBikerLeather.com and commented:
    Biker Babe Tours is in Ladies of Harley HOG. Congratulations!

  2. kristeng45 says:

    Very nice! Wish I could crash your Party’s riding up on an INDIAN!!!!!!!! Haaaa haaaa lol love u pis! So glad you like your GA bag!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

