Riding Spirit; Spirit Riding

So, I’ll let you all in on a secret that isn’t really a secret at all because (A.) You all know this and (B.) I’ve written about this before. But, riding a motorcycle is a highly spiritual, even a (dare I say it), holy practice. Yep. Riding is one of the most holy, sacred, and vital activities in which human beings can engage, because it brings the inner and outer together. Now, before you begin rolling your eyes and chalking me up as some Sedona hairy-fairy, woo-woo, meditation fruitcake (which, you know, I kinda am, but that is a discussion for another post), hear me out.

Riding a motorcycle is an exercise in wholeness. What does that mean to me? It’s an activity where one is totally focused, totally present, in action, in the moment and yet, also simultaneously surrounded by a soft, gauzy, dream-land bubble of euphoria, pleasure, and relaxation. So, it’s about feeling and being whole, which is totally spiritual. At a deeper level, riding is the converging and commingling of the inner terrain of one’s own self (feelings, thoughts, and sensations) with the outer world of a racing landscape, a racing engine, plus the wind, the scenery, the road, and nature. Riding is one of the few activities that let you be completely inside of yourself and yet completely in the world at the same time. Again, spiritual.

Skull_Valley_Yarnel_026_re-size

Whether you describe yourself as religious/spiritual or not, a believer in a higher power or not, riding a motorcycle is about finding a connection with the self and the world, and is simply the most delicious way, in my opinion, to do that, to achieve that connection, that contentedness (which I believe we are all seeking in one way or another, regardless of belief system).

Yesterday, for example, I rode all over the place with several members of my Grand Canyon Harley-Davidson HOG Chapter. Several times throughout the day, I was able to achieve that all-encompassing sense of being at one with the inner and the outer worlds. I knew what the bike in front of me was going to do right before he did it. I knew the feelings that the other riders were having right as they were having them. I knew and felt the landscape reacting to our presence as we sped across her lovely hide. And, I felt such appreciation and love inside at being given an opportunity to dig deep, to hold that awe and wonder, and to witness the marriage between the inner and the outer.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I just LOVE seeing other riders feeling this, too. Few things bring me as much joy as seeing my brothers and sisters as happy as I am and as happy as human beings can be in such a simple and immediate way. This is why we ride, whether most of us would characterize the experience in this way or not. We are all doing it. We are all getting closer to who we are, why we came to this planet for more lessons, and how we can act in love and unity. The happier people are, the more they give to others, the more they tap into the universal themes of love and freedom, and the more they have to offer others.  We are all riding spirit, regardless of the vehicle chosen. And, spirit is riding us.

(What about you? Do you agree? Do you think I am out of my tree? Tell me. Let’s start this discussion and we can cap it off by ripping through the desert together, pulling up to a traffic light, looking over at each other knowingly, and smiling like the sun! Let’s do this.)

About Biker Babe Tours

Biker babe (riding a purple, 2012 Harley-Davidson Street Glide), writer, tour guide, and breather of much oxygen.
This entry was posted in Motorcyclist Essays, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Riding Spirit; Spirit Riding

  1. LB says:

    Riding my bike gives me greater joy than many things. In fact, I wrote this post in April after purchasing my first new bike (but third overall – the pics were taken when I still had my sporster though). Check it out if you like.
    http://lifeonthebikeandotherfabthings.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/the-sigh/

    • Hi, LB, Thank you so much for visiting and reading our blog. I came over and checked out your blog, too. I like it and look forward to exploring more of it. I couldn’t agree with you more. Riding is one of the biggest joys in life. Glad you are here, wind-sister. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Happiest with a Big Harley Between My Legs | BigBodyBeautiful

Leave a Reply

