Kickin’ It In Kanab Tour Was Krazy-Fun!

Biker Babes! The Kickin’ It In Kanab, UT tour, a couple of weeks ago, was just loads of and loads of fun! Though the group was really small (two participants, two tour guides), it was an exciting and heart-warming adventure, nonetheless. We four biker babes rode up to Kanab together from various spots in northern AZ. This turned out to be a blessing, because it extended the time that we had to get to know each other’s riding styles and personalities. We all had such a good time!

Rhonda, Donna, and Pat, Getting Ready for the Ride to Kanab

Rhonda, Donna, & Pat, Getting Ready for the Ride!

About halfway to Kanab, we hit our groove and started riding as if we were one unit; it was truly awesome. I just love when that happens. Riders who have never been on the road together just automatically begin to anticipate each other’s reactions and movements in the pack. I remember thinking: “Now, this is how it’s supposed to work. This is the dream that I envisioned for so many years while forming this business, a group of women riding together as one and feeling the pure enjoyment of riding together. This is how it’s supposed to be.” And, though not every woman rode at the same level of skill or pace, we proved that there is room for individual expression and differences inside the container that we all created together. I was loving it.

Quail Park Lodge Pool and Bike

Loaner Bike at Quail Park Lodge, Kanab, UT

On Thursday afternoon, we pulled up to the ever-adorable and fun-spirited Quail Park Lodge. Hotel manager and host, Ladd greeted us outside and gave us all huge hugs. Ladd is a total sweetie.  He was so happy to have us there. We felt the love immediately. What a great business that is, I tell ya. And, for anyone taking notes, that’s how it’s done, folks. Make people feel welcome, be of service, and be kind to others and you know what? You’ll have business for life. The owners, Matt and Travis, who also own The Canyons Lodge in Kanab, will have my business for life, because they understand on a cellular level how to treat guests. The best part of their business is that people arrive as guests and leave as friends. I love these men so much.

Red Rocks of Zion

Zion Canyon Red Rocks

On day one of the tour, Friday, we had a delicious, home-style, country breakfast at the historic Parry Lodge and then rode to and through Zion National Park; we stopped for lots of photo opportunities, and eventually made our way through the red-rock grandeur to lunch in Springdale, UT. Although it lightly rained on us (even though there wasn’t any rain in the forecast), we did not mind. We did what any true bikers do; we just kept going, albeit at a bit slower pace to be extra safe, and we made the best of it. We ended up taking some pretty hysterically funny photographs of each other and gut-laughing at all of our silliness, alot!

More Zion Beauty

More Zion Beauty

Lunch in the adorable Oscar’s Cafe of Springdale was good fun; the food was wholesome and delicious and the patio seating was great because we watched the rain and only got dripped on a little bit. After lunch, the rain let up, so we walked around Springdale and did the “girl thing”–SHOPPING! Hey, if you’ve never been there, Springdale is a really cute little town and a definite must-visit. It’s nestled into the immense and spectacular Zion canyon and has adorable shops, good food, art, and tree-lined, quaint streets. I found myself trying to figure out how I could move there. LOL! I’m still trying to figure it out. ; )

Rhonda and Donna in Zion

After Springdale, we rode back through Zion park to Pink Coral Sand Dunes State Park for more photo opportunities of the amazing, HUGE coral-colored dunes. The photo below simply does not do it justice. You have to see this amazing place to believe it. As far as your eyes can see, just these huge swaths of orange dunes swirled onto the earth in amazing, massive patterns. And, with the rain-clouds and winds, we practically had the entire park to ourselves. It was so awesome. My only regret is that we didn’t get quite enough time at the park because we dallied so long in Springdale and had to get back to Kanab for dinner, but that just means it’ll be something to explore better when I go back.

Pink Coral Sand Dunes

To cap off the first day’s touring, we walked to dinner at the best restaurant in Kanab, The Rocking V Cafe, where we were treated to totally sumptuous and delectable food followed by equally tasty desserts. With full bellies and even fuller hearts, we walked back to the hotel and called it a night. What a great start to our tour!

On day two, Saturday, we had a good breakfast and then headed out to Angel Canyon to visit the Best Friends Animal Sanctuary, the largest no-kill sanctuary in the United States and home to some 1700 rescued animals.

The Best Friends Animal Sanctuary Sign

What an awesome place the Best Friends Sanctuary is; they help so, so many animals every single day of the year from a gorgeous, huge, and tranquil farm nestled into a very scenic, lush canyon. Best Friends Sanctuary houses everything from horses, goats, sheep, bunnies, pigs, dog, cats, and any other animal you can imagine. We pulled up, parked the bikes, and walked all around there to see some of the rescue animals.

A Gorgeous Mare at Best Friends

With the horses, we could tell that they had had less-than-stellar relationships with humans, because few of them seemed to even take notice of us, but I stood there telling them in my mind how vital they are to all of existence and how proud I was to simply stand there and look at them and share those moments with them. I also told them that not every human being is a creep, just some of them. It made me feel better; I think some of them got the message. While visitors are not allowed to touch the animals, we certainly can take photos of them, so that we did!

The Best Friends Gift Shop Patio

We mostly communed with the horses and pigs. I didn’t trust myself to go see the cats and dogs, because I would have wanted to save them all. It was already difficult enough for me to see the horses and pigs; I just wanted to take them all home with me. Good thing I was on the bike, because it made that logistically impossible.

We ended up getting to meet the cutest pot-belly pig named Cherry. She was resting in the shade when we first walked up, but soon decided that we were interesting enough to strut around her pen and show off for us. Here she is just posing for all of us. She stood there for at least five minutes just swooshing her tail and grunting at us. What a total cutie she was! If you click on the photo to expand it, you can totally tell that Cherry is looking right at me. I swear pigs are so smart; she knew exactly what we wanted and then complied. What a darling girl!

Cherry, the Pot-Belly Piggy

Cherry, the Pot-Belly Piggy

I wanted to climb in that pen and smooch her, but it’s against the rules and for good reason. Not all of the animals at the sanctuary are necessarily social or accommodating to people they don’t know. I was content just connecting with her in spirit. Besides, I was kissing her and loving on her in my mind, and I know that smart pig felt it and welcomed it. I mean, look at her very pleased face!

After the Best Friends Sanctuary, we rode over to Moqui Cave in Kanab. I have been to Kanab many times and never stopped there but have always wanted to, so this tour gave me the perfect excuse to share something really special with the ladies.

Entrance to Moqui Cave

Entrance to Moqui Cave

Moqui Cave was an Anasazi sandstone cave that was rediscovered in the 19th century and turned into a speakeasy and dance hall during prohibition in the 1920s. It has been owned by the same Mormon family since 1951.  There are two large rooms in the cave where the family has preserved literally tons of amazing rocks and Indian artifacts along with actual 140 million-year-old dinosaur tracks that are petrified. This was such an interesting journey back in time. The two girls working in the cave were just about as sweet as two humans could possible be; I meant to write down their names, but didn’t and now I regret that because they were ooing and awing over the fact that we were lady riders. We encouraged them to consider riding their own bikes someday. It was a special connection between us all.

Lastly, we rode over to the Little Hollywood Museum, where we then walked around the movie sets used in various Western movies of the past, such as the Outlaw Josey Wales, and various famous western TV shows.

Sets in the Little Hollywood Museum

Sets in the Little Hollywood Museum

I love the Little Hollywood Museum so much. You can walk around the actual movie sets. Most of the sets have been moved to the site but all of the surviving sets came from Kanab or its close environs. It’s a fascinating step back in time and you can just feel the history off of these buildings. We had a blast there.

To sum up, this was a completely heart-warming and fun tour. I really hated for it to end. The women were awesome. They made this tour and the trip so special and not that they knew this but, they restored my faith in this business. I now know that I can do this, peeps. If I have more tours like this one, with people who actually get my heart and the heart of what this business is all about, this is going to be the best and most fun way to spend the rest of my years on this planet. I only hope that I can give to others as much as they give to me. But, in my heart, I know that I do.

And, finally, the following snaps are probably my two very favorite photos from the tour.

Having Too Much Fun!

Having Too Much Fun!

What awesome biker babes! What a sense of humor on these women. God, I just love them so much. : )) This is what I’m talking about! We were laughing so hard we could barely take the photo. Thank you so much, Rhonda, Donna, and Pat. You three will forever be in my heart and a core part of this business because you gave of your hearts on this trip and thus, gave me hope again. To you three wonderful, powerful, independent, and soul-connected women, I owe so much. It’s an honor to have ridden with you. I hope we get the chance to do it again real soon.

Beautiful Women on a Beautiful Tour

About Biker Babe Tours

Biker babe (riding a purple, 2012 Harley-Davidson Street Glide), writer, tour guide, and breather of much oxygen.
This entry was posted in Motorcycle Touring Company, Women Bikers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kickin’ It In Kanab Tour Was Krazy-Fun!

  1. LB says:

    Congratulations!!! After reading your post about the first tour, it is wonderful to read about this success! Good for you for keeping it going!

    • LB, Thank you so much for the kind comments and encouragement, wind-sister. We would love to tour with you someday. It is so, so much fun when you have the right people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

